Wow! Just Wow!

There have been so many changes that have happened recently, I just want to take a few minutes to share what’s going on.  This will be a lot more personal than my previous postings…but I just can’t seem to quelch this desire to share what’s been happening, so it looks like you’re stuck!  🙂

First good news to share – I got a new laptop computer!  How did I go this long without one?? ?  I have finally joined the ranks of being on par technologically as the rest of you. 🙂 I was fairly spoiled when I worked at Proteus and had access to a computer for personal use during the workday on my breaks or when work was caught up, and had put the purchase of a new home computer on the back burner.  But changing jobs and having a whole lot to learn doesn’t allow for slacking time and surfing the web.  Not having a working computer at home left me feeling so out of touch.  My pathetic cell phone offered glimpses of the virtual world, but wasn’t really a great tool to do more than post a quick, short status update on Facebook.  My next “upgrade” is going to be a new phone and if you could see it, you’d see why I’m hoping that upgrade came sooner rather than later!

Now – on to more updates!  Have I mentioned I have 3 fabulous kids, the world’s most adorable grandson, and many, many wonderful nieces and nephews and extended family? Have I told about being lucky enough to have siblings who are not just stuck with me because we’re blood related, but because we’re friends, and a mom who is willing to support wholeheartedly her daughter’s latest adventures with enthusiasm?  Did you know I have some really good friends who just make my world a better place and can’t imagine life without them in it?  Well, I do!   I just keep thinking…wow!  Things are GREAT!  It’s not often I feel lucky in life, but the past month I have sure FELT like I’m on a lucky streak.  Here’s the low-down on what is going on that making me say “wow” so much.  🙂

There have been so many things happening the past couple of weeks!  I am exhausted and excited at the same time…which I’ve discovered is possible to be.  🙂   As I mentioned in my first post, I was notified mid February that I would probably be losing my job at the end of March.  NOT good news, but wasn’t a huge surprise given the current economy.  I had been working for two gentlemen who opened their own boutique investment firm in 2006.  I joined their team in 2007…and the economy began to crash in 2008….boy was my timing off!  But they hung in there and kept things up and running, even when there wasn’t a whole lot to do and a whole lot of income coming in – sometimes covering my salary and benefits out of their own personal pocket.  I am forever grateful to them and the sacrifices they made on my behalf! 🙂

So I begun sending out my resume like mad, and took the leap of faith in myself by joining Rodan+Fields.   Now you may wonder why I say “a leap of faith in myself” instead of a “leap of faith in Rodan+Fields”.  Well let me tell you why…because my success with this company is COMPLETELY under my control.  They’ve provided me the tools, the amazing, effective products and a huge support system that is always a phone call or email away.  But it’s up to me to create my own success, so before signing up as a consultant, I really had to be sure that I knew deep down I had the time, the vision, the energy and the determination to launch a new business and make it profitable in a short amount of time.

I look at it like a gardener does when seeds are planted…those seeds need to sprout, be nurtured and attended to, especially when they are fragile.  Soon it becomes stronger and heartier, and soon it begans producing, and finally, it’s matured so much you can harvest from it without doing much daily maintenance.  But if that gardner just bought a packet of seeds and sprinkled them on the ground and expected it to grow without any tending, would it be the seed’s fault for not blooming into it’s full potential?  I think not.  Everything is inside that seed to sprout into the plant its meant to be, but needs fertile ground and the gardener’s careful tending and attention to reach its full potential.  And that’s how I look at my business with Rodan+Fields…it’s up to me to bring out my own success potential, which is why it’s a leap of faith in myself!

I was profoundly appreciative when my boss and our underwriters we shared office space with offered to keep me employed, although reduced to part-time pay and part-time salary.  I was just so happy not to be standing in the unemployment line or taking a job I really didn’t want that was a longer commute and lower pay, so I grabbed the chance to stay and reconfigured my personal budget so I could absorb the cut in pay.  And also got even more amped up to make Rodan+Fields profitable so I ideally, I wouldn’t feel that cut in pay.

After getting my employment status worked out, imagine my suprise the first week in Apirl when a business associate of one of my Proteus bosses sent an email to his wife’s employer when he heard there was an administrative position open in their company.  I read his email that he sent, and was both highly appreciatative by his raving compliments of my administrative skills while wondering who in the world he was talking about…lol.  The next thing I knew I had a job interview set up that afternoon and to my shock and delight, was offered the job the next day!  Thank you Ed!  I owe you big time and have thoroughly enjoyed getting to know and working with your fabulous wife.  I can see why you snagged her so quickly!  🙂

The month of April has flown by.  In a  few short weeks, I ended one job, started another, caught a cold that is STILL lingering 3 weeks later – and still without full use of my voice, enjoyed a 10-day visit with Emily and Jayden and emotionally supported and respected Alex’s decision to join the Navy (while supressing the mother bear protective instinct as much as possible!).  April has been a month of changes, growth, reconnecting and chartering new paths.  During this time I haven’t had as much time to focus on Rodan+Fields as I wanted, yet still managed to build up my business and look forward to receiving my R+F paycheck on May 15th.  Oh, did I mention that little perk?  Each month on the 15th I get a paycheck from Rodan+Fields, which happens to also coincide with my full-time paycheck, so that makes the 15th of the month my FAVORITE day of the month!

I wouldn’t be a good mom/grandma if I didn’t show some pictures of my kiddos, now would I?  Here is Emily and Jayden at the airport getting ready to return to Puerto Rico.  This means my”grandma-itis” has returned and will stay with me until I see Jayden again.  He’s almost a year and a half and is one cute little dude – my little bilingual bambino!  He was quite a good helper when he was at my house – rearranging all my bottom cabinets, DVD’s and old CD cases, telling the dogs “no” whenever they got too close, and much to their delight – shared all his food with them.  Much to the cat’s horror – Jayden like to chase after him calling  “kitty, kitty” in a darling little higher pitched, singsong voice, hoping to give his fur a good squeeze.   Jayden has very discerning tastes in toys – preferring my picture frames, knick-knacks and pots and pans over anything made out of plastic and created for his age.  But like I told his mom, as long as he was having fun and couldn’t get hurt, he could play with anything he wanted…even if it got broke it was all replaceable.   One of the many downsides of having Jayden gone is not being able to find things….I may have to clean out every drawer, cabinet and closet – which needed to be done anyway!  But if he were here, he’d proudly show me where he put something and explain to me in his very own language I like to call “Jaydenese” why it was a much better location than the place I had chosen. 🙂

Emily realized that our interpertations of “warm spring weather” were miles apart after living in Puerto Rico for 4 months.  I kept assuring her it was no longer cold in Colorado and we had warm, mild temps, so she packed accordingly.  Apparently, her interperation of warm, mild temps are somewhere in the 80 degree range, while my version is anything over freezing.    I don’t think she actually warmed up until she landed back in San Juan!  Funny how a few months in a new climate had already changed her body temperature preferences.  She also had forgotten how dry it is in Colorado, and was constantly looking for lotion for her dry hands and extra hair products for her hair.  I guess my plan to convince her how much she missed living in Colorado fell a little short.  Hard to compete with tropical air, palm trees and a short walk to a coastline that is so beautiful it’s a destination spot for many vacationers.

When I look at this picture, I can’t believe how much my kids have grown.  In my mind, they should still be youngsters, and here they are looking more like grown-ups.  I have no idea how this transformation happened so quickly.  Emily couldn’t believe how short she looks compared to Alex and Kendal, and Emily is no shorty!  I look at my tall, handsome boys and beautiful daughter and feel so proud to be their mother. This may be the last kid picture for awhile, since Alex will be leaving in July for Navy boot camp and its unsure if Emily will be able to come back for visit before then.  Needless to say, this picture is priceless!

As I end this little post on my blog,  I am humbled and filled with gratitude for my good fortune, my wonderful family and excitement for what is next to happen.  My personal results with the REVERSE regimen continue to blow me away, and soon I’ll share more photos of my naked face – which may or may not excite you – regardless, consider yourself warned either way!  😉

I’m only 2 weeks away from using REVERSE for a full 60 days, and boy can I see a difference.  Just last night Kendal told me, after washing my face and sitting in my bed make-up free, “that stuff you’re using on your face is working”.  In his words – “those dark spots aren’t as dark” and “can hardly see those lines around your eyes”.  Now you may wonder why my 15 year old son discusses skincare with me, but any parent of a teenager who has entered puberty and begun the battle of acne knows that appearance and skincare suddenly becomes a topic of interest to them!  Regardless of the reason, I take it as a huge compliment (and ignore the wonderings of what he must have thought of my appearance before REVERSE) that he would take the time to mention this to me.

And one little suggestion when life throws you a curve ball and change is looming – embrace it!  Don’t fight it!  Be excited!  You’ll never know what is behind that door until you walk through it.  There is nothing to fear, only new adventures to discover and new growth to achieve.  I must say that after a few anxious days after hearing I may become unemployed, I developed the mantra of “Embrace the Change” and during what should have been an unsettled time, I felt nothing but peace that all would be well and excitement of what was yet to come.  When my perspective changed, the fear and anxiety disappeared.  I can’t help but wonder if I had stayed focused on the negative aspects of change how things would have turned out.  I’m convinced putting all my energy into embracing the change created a postive change that I’m thrilled came along.

I leave you tonight with one of my favorite saying. “Yesterday is the past.  Tomorrow is the future.  Today is a gift…that’s why it’s called ‘The Present'”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wow! Just Wow!

  1. Vicki Qualkenbush says:

    First, I must say your writing is remarkable. The examples you give are so true to life and very refreshing. The self confidence you feel in yourself amazes me. It is certainly something to be treasured by you and your children. I hope they carry the same confidence that you have for if they do, your children will do wonderful in life. You make me proud to know you. You have taken upon yourself a challenge and never looked back. I call that faith – in yourself and in God. Thank you so very much for sharing your story and I truly look forward to reading more. Vicki

    • Thank you Vicki! Sorry it took so long to reply to your sweet comment, but I just figured out how to do it! 🙂 I am thankful you tracked me down on FB and we can keep in touch. Our entire family agrees wholeheartedly that having Dave by our side and his support during a very traumatic time was a blessing to us all. I always said that something good had to come from something so awful, and meeting you and Dave was one of those things!

  2. Emily Thompson-Llopiz says:

    It was so great to see everyone. I’m so happy for all of the positive things happening in your life, and I know you’ll succeed in any of your endeavors now, and in the future. You say you feel thankful for your good fortune, and all of the good things that have been happening, but trust me, us kids are the thankful ones (and by kids, I mean your grown-up babies, and grand-baby). 🙂 We love you very much! So excited to see whats to come 🙂

Leave a comment